University of California, Irvine
 SEARCH UCI UCI HOME
Title of Site Identifier (Replace this Alt) Description of photos (If applicable, replace this Alt, otherwise leave it blank)
Program Name Director Target Audience
Astronomy Outreach
(more info)
Assistant Professor
Tammy Smecker-Hane
tsmecker@uci.edu
Elementary: Middle; High School Students (school site visits, host students at UCI, & summer PD)
Biological Science Outreach

Bio Sci Teacher Professional Development Program

Science Fair Initative

Dr. Luis Mota-Bravo
lmota@uci.edu

Dr. Debra Mauzy-Melitz
dmauzyme@uci.edu

PD for HS Teachers
Science Fair for HS Students
CALNANO Professor
Peter Burke
pburke@uci.edu
Lower Elementary (classroom visits)
Chemistry - AP Laboratory Initiative Kim Edwards
kdmullen@uci.edu
PD & Lab visit for HS teachers & students
Chemistry - Environmental Gases Professor
Sergey Nizkorodov
nizkorod@uci.edu

Professor
Barbara Finlayson-Pitts
bjfinlay@uci.edu

Summer PD for HS teachers
Chemistry - Mysteries of Water
(more info)
Professor
Ken Janda
kcjanda@uci.edu
Summer PD for HS Teachers
Chemistry Outreach Program Professor
James Nowick
jsnowick@uci.edu
Elementary (3-5); Middle; High School Students
Earthquake Engineering: Learning With LEGO Assistant Professor
Tara Hutchinson
thutchin@uci.edu
Middle; High School Students
Nuclear Science Professor
George Miller
gemiller@uci.edu
Middle; High School Students
Pre-K/Kindergarten Science, Mathematics and Reading Training Schools (SMARTS) Dr. Linda Clinard
lclinard@uci.edu
PD for Teachers (PreK-K)
Physics Outreach Dr. Bill Heidbrink
wwheidbr@uci.edu
Elementary (3-5); Middle School
School Partnerships for Instruction, Research, and Information Technology (SPIRIT)
(more info)
Cathy Palmer
cpalmer@uci.edu

Carol Hughes
hughes@uci.edu

Tom Babayan
tbabayan@uci.edu

Upper Elementary; Middle; High School Teachers & Students